The 30 Days Blog Challenge, Day 24: A Long Summer.

Day 24 – Your favorite movie and what it’s about.

This is a story of boy meets girl. The boy, Tom Hansen of Margate, New Jersey, grew up believing that he’d never truly be happy until the day he met the one. This belief stemmed from early exposure to sad British pop music and a total mis-reading of the movie ‘The Graduate’. The girl, Summer Finn of Shinnecock, Michigan, did not share this belief. Since the disintegration of her parent’s marriage she’d only love two things. The first was her long dark hair. The second was how easily she could cut it off and not feel a thing. Tom meets Summer on January 8th. He knows almost immediately she is who he has been searching for. This is a story of boy meets girl, but you should know upfront, this is not a love story.

As the narrator shared, or more aptly warned500 Days of Summer is not a love story. I guess it’s more of a boy’s, Tom’s (played by Joseph Gordon-Levitt), story of his daily roller coaster rides (complete with lurching drops and unexpected turns) in life with a girl named Summer (played by Zooey Deschanel). The movie was set to be told in a non-linear narrative, jumping from one day to another in the span of 500 days that Tom had with Summer.

I super ♥♥♥ this movie because of:

1. Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Zooey Deschanel. They are my boy and girl crushes! If you remember, I put Joseph as my #2 in my list of famous guys I find attractive. Joseph, for me, is a very interesting guy. You may not see him in a lot of TV shows or movies, but when you do, you’re captivated with the character his portraying or, just simply, by his dashing looks *hihihi*. 🙂 Now with Zooey…I actually knew her through my research (read: Google-ing) of her older sister, Emily Deschanel (Temperance Brennan aka Bones in the TV series Bones). Zooey’s quirky and cute, especially with her doe eyes. Her fashion sense is something I’d love to have. Having all that said, putting Joseph and Zooey together in a movie will definitely have me watching it as soon as it hits the theaters.

2. The non-linear narrative. Despite that a chronological order of events would better explain a story, 500 Days of Summer suited the opposite. For me, it gave a more realistic feel with the characters reminiscing or remembering events as they go through something emotional. Romantic relationships are filled with a lot of back stories and surprising outcomes, which, when popped out at different points of the movie, make the audience learn more of the how’s and why’s the characters do what they do.

3. It wasn’t your typical romantic comedy. Most movies dealing with love and relationships would have their main characters end up with each other after a series of ups and downs. Not with 500 Days of Summer, which showed the reality of bottomless pits one goes through a breakup and the struggle to go back in the game even if just for the sake of sanity.

4. The lines in the script. They were catchy! A reference to The Beatles can win my heart over anytime:

Tom: Nobody loves Ringo Starr.
Summer: That’s what I love about him.

Simple truths that make you ponder:

Rachel Hansen: Just because she likes the same bizzaro crap you do doesn’t mean she’s your soul mate.

Complex truths that you don’t want to accept:

Summer: I woke up one morning and I just knew.
Tom: Knew what?
Summer: What I was never sure of with you.

Opportunities presenting itself when you get off your ass and live on with your life:

Tom: We’ll figure it out. My name’s Tom.
Girl at Interview: Nice to meet you.
[Shakes his hand]
Girl at Interview: I’m Autumn.

5. The songs! I’m not a music enthusiast and generally, any song that makes me feel inspired, happy or reminiscent will definitely be added to my playlist. Usually, I get to discover songs, both old and new, through TV shows/series and movies. 500 Days of Summer is filled with songs I am now in love with. If not for this movie, I wouldn’t get the learn about the geniuses of Regina Spektor, The Smiths, Hall and Otas, Carla Bruni, Feist, Mumma-Ra and, most especially, The Temper Trap.

Have you watched 500 Days of Summer? ‘Coz if you haven’t, you should! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

